Here

Here, in the darkness,

The shadows of this room.

I sit. I watch.

I feel her get consumed.

 

This sickness, it clings,

Delving deep into her brain.

The pain it brings

Leaves her… not the same.

 

Stinging taps into the corner of her eyes.

I see her blink, try to hide,

I see her try, oh, she tries,

But cannot shake what’s eating her mind.

 

With a sigh she walks away,

A bitter taste of agony.

I am weak. I cannot stay,

Cannot give her what she needs.

 

Here, in the darkness,

I hold her as close as I can.

From across the room I share her ache,

Ashamed of who I am.

Leave a Reply

