P is for Philadelphia

In 2006 I went to Philadelphia on a mission trip to help grow a community garden and work in a rehab center for addicts. Part of our group also worked in a daycare center for preschool children. We also got to see a Phillies baseball game and eat Philly cheese steaks! I really enjoyed working in both the garden and rehab and it was definitely an eye-opening experience. I wrote a song after that trip, feeling inspired, and I thought I’d share the lyrics here:

I’ve never been a believer

In much of anything at all.

Only reassured myself

I was insignificant and small.

 

Something’s stirring inside of me,

Changing greed to generosity.

The urge to help another see

Through love we will be set free.

 

Too many times we stand by to watch

Waiting for someone else to take the lead,

But the followers must take a stand,

Must nurture those in need.

 

Something’s stirring inside of me,

Changing greed to generosity.

The urge to help another see

Through love we will be set free.

 

An epiphany broke evening thought,

Displayed by a flag dancing with the breeze,

And suddenly it came to me:

Small things bring the biggest men to their knees.

 

For the first time

I’ve awoken,

Risen from a bed of delay.

 

And for the first time

My soul is alive,

Ready to taste each new day.

 

Something’s stirring in side of me,

Changing greed to generosity.

The urge to help another see

Through love we will be set free.

 

What a wonderful feeling happiness is.

It dwells in the heart, inhabits the mind.

And I’m so thankful to finally believe

That happiness is not that hard to find.

 

Oh, happiness is not too hard to find.

8 thoughts on “P is for Philadelphia

  1. Pingback: A to Z Recap | serenasinclair

Leave a Reply

