Blogger Recognition Award

This is the first time I’ve done one of these things and because this one is called the “Blogger Recognition Award” I thought it would be nice to do to help some newer blogs I’ve discovered since you have to nominate 15 people.

First, I’d like to thank Reethu and her blog A Thought, A Word and An Eternal Bliss for nominating me. Her blog is fairly new as is mine. I stumbled upon her blog by finding her Eternal Love post which was a poem I thoroughly enjoyed. Check out her page to read her poetry and writings!

Here are the rules for the award:

Write a post to show your award
Give a brief story of how your blog started
Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

I started this blog because I wanted to find motivation to write again. I’ve been an elementary school music teacher for three years now and I’ve found it takes over most of my time. I always used to balance music and writing, but lately my writing was forgotten. This blog helps me stay motivated AND hopefully can serve as a gateway for me to continue my writing pursuits. I’m not sure I will be a music teacher forever, but I know I will always want to write.

I only started my blog at the end of March so I am not sure how qualified I am to give advice. However, there are a few things I THINK I have learned to be true so I shall share them.

Interaction

The way to get consistent readers on your blog is to interact with them. Leave them comments on their page and respond to any comments you receive. If someone is kind enough to view your blog, try and return the favor. Even if their content is not something you would “follow” you can still check out what they have to say. They’ve worked hard on their blog just as you have on yours and everyone loves feeling appreciated. Sometimes all we can think to say is a simple, “great post” or “beautiful” whatever it may be. That’s fine, but people love to hear specifics of what about their post made it great to you. When you interact with another blog enough it’s more like checking up on a friend. You want to be that friend!

Believe in YOU

Say what you have to say and don’t make excuses for it. If you feel like your words are ready for internet consumption don’t put them up with a disclaimer. I have seen so many talented writers on here and I LOVE to read. The worst thing about reading someone’s work is if at the end they tell you, “I’m sorry this sucks”. I used to do that, I think I may have even done it once on here, but after seeing someone else do it I realized YOU are putting that thought into the reader’s head. Just let your words speak for themselves. Not everyone will like them and that’s OKAY.

Since this is for blogs to get recognized I wanted to pick blogs I’ve found or who’ve found me that have around 100 followers or less. That way you can discover their blogs and help them out on their blogging journeys 🙂 So please give them a look and check out their stuff!

John Davis Frain

Phoenix Risen Poetry

Counting the Steps of the Sun

2BlueEyes

Green Piazza

JR. Diaries

milkywayofmud

Saucy Dryad

Random thoughts of a sleepless mind

Shatter the Mirror

Writing with meaning

starsofstories

theinvisiblerose

Jackie Jennings

The Breathing Castle

11 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

    • Well I am biased in that my instrument(s) is percussion so anything in that family. If I had to pick a favorite it would be either vibraphone, marimba, tambourine, or djembe. I did have to learn every instrument though to get certified so I can play them all! My favorite non-percussion are cello and flute.

      Like

Leave a Reply

