3 Day Quote Challenge

I have been nominated by samanthamurdochblog for the 3 Day Quote Challenge. She writes about cats and crystals and is a great person to connect with so you should check out her blog!

The rules for the challenge are as follows:

Post 3 quotes for 3 consecutive days and nominate 3 new blogs each day.

It seems like people theme each day and I like that idea so I will do the same. Music is a huge part of my life so I’d like to start with quotes from song lyrics because that’s really got me into writing poetry in the first place.

“Time is not given and time is not taken, it just sifts through its sift.”

-Buildings, Regina Spektor

I had a fascination with time when I was growing up, especially since it is essentially a made-up concept. Humans created “time”. We defined what makes a second, a minute, an hour, days, weeks, fortnights…. you get the point. And now we are obsessed with timing. But as Regina says so eloquently, “time is not given and time is not taken”. The song is really about a couple where the wife is always getting drunk and making mistakes and then asking for time to be better and the husband keeps “giving” her time to get better. Except at the same time that’s NOT quite what’s going on, but I don’t want to spoil it too much because I want you to discover it yourself! It’s such a beautiful song with the most haunting words. I love it. Buildings – Regina Spektor

“I won’t pretend that I can see the end, but
Its far away, its in the distance
We’ll find a place, there isn’t room for two of us
The minutes drag, then there’s a world between us.

And I’m too afraid, much too afraid to fall for anything.
And I’m too afraid, much too afraid to sing, to sing.

We all come to an end
And we all end together.”

-Don’t Be Afraid To Sing, Stars

Stars is one of my favorite bands as they have lasted with me through high school. I had to pick this song because it’s called “Don’t Be Afraid To Sing”. Just like all the songs I love for their lyrics this one has a lot going on. The title says “don’t” and then everything in the song contradicts that. The end repeats and it’s hard to tell if that’s a happy or sad sentiment, I suppose it’s both. It’s better at least than saying we all die alone. It honestly seems like singing doesn’t have a place in the song, but I see it as a metaphor. Especially being a music teacher I see so many kids afraid to use their singing voice and it’s because it is a terribly vulnerable thing to do. So much more so than just speaking to someone. So tell me, are you afraid to sing?  Don’t Be Afraid To Sing – Stars

“Blame it on the web, but the spider’s your problem now.
Language is the liquid that we’re all dissolved in.
Great for solving problems, after it creates a problem.
Blame it on the Tetons. God, I need a scapegoat now.”

-Blame It On The Tetons, Modest Mouse

Not only are these words poetically beautiful, but the message speaks volumes. Especially with recent events. Misplacing blame, creating scapegoats, fabricating problems…. and Modest Mouse addresses that with just a hint of sarcasm. Take responsibility for yourself. Blame It On The Tetons – Modest Mouse

 

And now because I chose song lyric quotes I will nominate three blogs I have connected with through music:

Good, Beautiful and True

Zombie Flamingos

Malakhai Jones

 

I hope if you listen to the songs you enjoy them! Or at least their lyrics!

8 thoughts on “3 Day Quote Challenge

  1. I loved your quote choices! And thanks for the nomination, which I am going to decline (partly because of being award-free, and partly because I would have no idea where to begin!) Thanks again!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Song lyrics are so powerful! They can take us back to a time we thought we had forgotten when we hear the first word, even the first notes! Music connects us all and soothes, excites, motivates, challenges, focuses, and speaks. I enjoyed your post sans approach to the challenge you gave gracefully and eloquently accepted!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Song lyrics are so visceral. I hear a certain song, I’m immediately transported to a different place and time. Usually it’s a great time and place and evokes wonderful memories. I suddenly catch myself smiling without realizing where it came from.

    Great choice, Serena! Keep it going…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Day 2 of the 3 Day Quote Challenge | serenasinclair

  5. Pingback: Day 3 of the 3 Day Quote Challenge | serenasinclair

Leave a Reply

