Day 2 of the 3 Day Quote Challenge

For my second day I decided to go with movie quotes since I did song lyrics yesterday.

Once again the rules are post 3 quotes for 3 consecutive days and nominate 3 new blogs each day.

I am not feeling so great today. My best friend is in critical care in the hospital after a car accident and I am trying to find ways to distract myself. I liked getting the quotes from my favorite movies, but I don’t have the energy to write much else.

John Keating: They’re not that different from you, are they? Same haircuts. Full of hormones, just like you. Invincible, just like you feel. The world is their oyster. They believe they’re destined for great things, just like many of you, their eyes are full of hope, just like you. Did they wait until it was too late to make from their lives even one iota of what they were capable? Because, you see gentlemen, these boys are now fertilizing daffodils. But if you listen real close, you can hear them whisper their legacy to you. Go on, lean in. Listen, you hear it? – – Carpe – – hear it? – – Carpe, carpe diem, seize the day boys, make your lives extraordinary.

-Dead Poet’s Society

carpe diem.jpg

Simon Wilder: You asked the question, sir, now let me answer it. The beauty of the Constitution is that it can always be changed. The beauty of the Constitution is that it makes no set law other than faith in the wisdom of ordinary people to govern themselves.

Proffesor Pitkannan: Faith in the wisdom of the people is exactly what makes the Constitution incomplete and crude.

Simon Wilder: Crude? No, sir. Our “founding parents” were pompous, white, middle-aged farmers, but they were also great men. Because they knew one thing that all great men should know: that they didn’t know everything. Sure, they’d make mistakes, but they made sure to leave a way to correct them. The president is not an “elected king,” no matter how many bombs he can drop. Because the “crude” Constitution doesn’t trust him. He’s just a bum, okay Mr. Pitkannan? He’s just a bum.

-With Honors

with honors.jpg

Frodo: I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.

Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us. There are other forces at work in this world Frodo, besides the will of evil. Bilbo was meant to find the Ring. In which case, you were also meant to have it. And that is an encouraging thought.

-Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

sam and frodo

 

My nominations today are for three blogs who always make me feel better with their kind words, posts, and interactions.

Daisy in the Willows

Floating Speck

Sarah Ferguson and Choppy

23 thoughts on “Day 2 of the 3 Day Quote Challenge

    • I don’t know what the actual rules are so I just did something! I’m grateful you will try and accept again even though you just did one! I’m looking forward to what quotes you choose. Also Dead Poet’s Society is my favorite movie, epic is certainly a fitting word to describe it!

      Like

  1. First, thank you for the nomination! I saw your comment on my blog buy have yet to respond to it – I will get there soon, I hope!

    Second, that is one of my favorite quotations from LotR – and that’s a movie with a lot of quotable moments (the book as well!).

    Third, and not least, you and your friend are in our thoughts here – you’re definitely dealing with far more than your fair share of bad crap these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Day 3 of the 3 Day Quote Challenge | serenasinclair

Leave a Reply

